Missouri Delegation Urges President Trump To Support Disaster Declaration for Areas Impacted by Severe Flooding

Press Release

WASHINGTON – Today, the entire Missouri congressional delegation, including U.S. Senators Roy Blunt and Josh Hawley, and U.S. Representatives Sam Graves, Emanuel Cleaver, II, Vicky Hartzler, Blaine Luetkemeyer, Ann Wagner, Wm. Lacy Clay, Billy Long, and Jason Smith sent a letter to President Trump supporting Governor Mike Parson’s request for a disaster declaration for 13 counties impacted by severe flooding. The disaster declaration is a necessary step for these counties to be able to access federal resources for recovery efforts.

“The severity and magnitude of the flooding has caused several communities to be evacuated and has resulted in the destruction of homes, farms, and businesses,” the delegation wrote. “We respectfully request your prompt action to ensure that these communities receive the immediate support needed to respond to the disaster. Along with our fellow Missourians, we appreciate your attention to this request and stand ready to assist in any way possible.”

Full text of the letter is available here.